How to delete your personal data from Ratsit
In this step-by-step guide you will learn how you can delete your personal data, such as your phone number, address, and birthday from Ratsit.se. The good news upfront: It´s not that difficult, so let us show you how to go about.
What is Ratsit?
To start with, let´s take a look at their business. The website Ratsit.se provides access to information about businesses and individuals. They gather and present information from various sources and they claim to be the most complete search service on the internet for individuals and businesses, as well as telephone numbers that come directly from the operators themselves.
At a first glance, it might seem kind of them to offer such a service, but don´t get fooled, as they turn your data into money. We are not sure whether they actually sell your data to third parties. However, with every view of any of their pages, they get revenue from advertisers on their site.
You might think your data was protected by law, but unfortunately, this is not the case here. Ratsit holds a publication certificate, which means that your rights through data protection laws, like GDPR, are being undermined, and hence leaves your data unprotected.
Below you can see Ratsit´s reputation on Trustpilot. At the time of writing this post, there are 35 reviews about Ratsit, and 94% of those reviews are negative. Multiple reviews link Ratsit to scams targeting businesses.
Guide: How to remove your personal information from Ratsit
Unfortunately, deleting your own personal data from Ratsit is not all easy. In fact, they won´t allow you to delete your data completely, but only from their public search. This means that anyone who logs into their site will still be able see your information.
Furthermore, you will have to contact their customer service and ask them to send you a form. Once you receive this, you will have to print it out, fill it in and send it to them, together with a copy of your valid ID.
After they have processed your request, your data will be hidden from their general search, but will still be visible to logged in members.
It might take a few days before the site is deleted, so we recommend you to set up a reminder to check that your data is removed from public search.
Simply search for your name or personnummer in your location. If the search result is “Ingen träff”, your details are no longer publicly visible.
Great job taking care of your privacy.